The September 2015 Greek legislative election will reportedly be held on Sunday, 20 September, following Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras' announced resignation on 20 August and his will to hold an election by September. At stake will be all 300 seats in the Hellenic Parliament. This will be a snap election, since new elections were not due until February 2019. This will be the fourth Greek election to be held in less than three and a half years.

Electoral system

All registered voters are called up to vote, with voting being mandatory. However, none of the legally existing penalties or sanctions have ever been enforced.

250 seats are distributed on the basis of proportional representation, with a threshold of 3% required for entry into parliament. Blank and invalid votes, as well as votes cast for parties that fall short of the 3% threshold, are disregarded for seat allocation purposes. 50 additional seats are awarded as a majority bonus to the party that wins a plurality of votes, with coalitions in that regard not being counted as an overall party but having their votes counted separately for each party in the coalition, according to the election law. Parliamentary majority is achieved by a party or coalition of parties that command at least one half plus one (151 out of 300) of total seats.